Civil jurisdiction of Lowell

[104] There is an inci­dent in regard to the civil juris­dic­tion of the vicin­ity of Low­ell. It has been under the juris­dic­tion of seven county author­i­ties, viz: The county of Augusta included Low­ell from 1745 till 1770. Then Bot­te­tourt county included Low­ell till 1772. Fin­cas­tle county included Low­ell till 1776. Fin­cas­tle county was abol­ished and its ter­ri­tory divided into three coun­ties, viz: Mont­gomery, Wash­ing­ton and Ken­tucky. The county of Ken­tucky included the present state of Ken­tucky. In 1780 Green­brier county was orga­nized, which included Low­ell. In 1799 Mon­roe county included Low­ell. In 1863 West Vir­ginia included Low­ell and in 1872 Sum­mers county included Low­ell. So we see that Low­ell, Sum­mers county, West Vir­ginia, has been in Augusta, Bot­te­tourt, Fin­cas­tle, Mont­gomery, Green­brier, Mon­roe and Sum­mers coun­ties and two states, viz: Vir­ginia and West Virginia.

Leave a Comment